Toradora ED – Orenji (English Variant)

A new experiment – song lyrics! Basically, trying to make lyrics that actually match the meter of the  tune. I thought about this after looking at the different language variants for Adventure Time stuff – and where the languages were good at or failed to translate over.

The following lyrics is for the full 4min version of Orenji. I decided to keep Orenji katakanized (because it’s hard to rhyme with orange) & I changed some of the song’s meaning. Rather than a sour orange turning sweet – this is about a sweet orange turning possibly more bittersweet. Since it’s song lyrics – you can probably add or displace a few words, and add a bunch of connectors or stretch out some words here and there depending on your own preference. I used em-dash to notate as to how I read it in my head.

There’s probably a bit of problem with the ‘away’ ‘say’ ‘today’ part – because that leaves the line hanging in English, but it’s supposed to end with a past tense ‘ta’ which gives it finality.

Toradora Orange English

In the darkness & in the deep
In the night – where I can’t sleep
I thought – I he-eard all the words
Of some lonely other girls

I was never like this alone
I thought my laugh was frozen stone
And I sa-aw – out of myself
That was really – some-one else

One drop of a little seed – in the earth, broke to trees
And the roots came out to meet
Some-thing so green, that formed everything

Orenji so sweet – making fruit
Fro-om the little tree –
That came to life – under li-ight of day
Reason & heart – didn’t make – any sense of today
So – notice me okay?

Orenji – today too
Ta-asted sweet as before
But, it stung – and it made me cry.
Yet something so sweet – could I eat
Because I didn’t like to – leave anything behind

Loving you Crying too
Loving you Loving you

Putting the two side by side
They just don’t look alike
Friends & Lovers – family too
Two hearts – stuck like glue

Thorns in my side – were just as bad
I ran away far – just so sad
And the light, of the day
Failed to make it through that way

Miracles were made that way
Lovers meeting – some would stay
Seeds that made the flowering tree
Were those, that were green – that formed everything

Orenji so sweet – that day
Inside the sunset way
I thought about it – and many things
Shadows make – and they wait
With their palms intermixed – under that orange sea

… Orenji – so sweet
When would it become sweeter
Or would it – gently fall away
What I don’t know – or can’t tell
What I don’t wish or can’t say
With that bite today:

(Alt: … Orenji – so sweet
When would it become sweeter
Or would it – gently fall apart
What I don’t know – or can’t ask
What I can’t tell won’t last
Until I try a part)

So bittersweet

Loving, crying till – I can’t see you
Crying just because – I love you

Orenji so sweet – making fruit
Fro-om the little tree –
That came to life – under li-ight of day
Reason & heart – didn’t make – any sense of today
So – notice me okay?

Orenji – today too
Ta-asted sweet as before
But, it stung – and it made me cry.
Yet something so sweet – could I eat
Because I didn’t like to – leave anything behind

Loving you Crying too
Loving you Loving you

So bittersweet

Crying too
Loving you
Loving you

