Amateur Translation: Cross Channel – Meeting Misato on the Roof (Edited)

For this I have a special version called the ‘Freestyle’ translation. Basically, rather than try to write like Romeo, I try to write like myself in Romeo’s tone.

I also have another special, called ‘hyperminimalism’. Exactly what it sounds like.

It is very important that you play this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-OFclzQR120

The commentary is here.

Translation

The wind came,
On my step out, at that moment.
But it was strange – a sunny mood was left.
There was a huge water tower, staircase – and besides, sharing foundations, a large antenna.
Taichi: “…hoh”
An unfinished antenna.
Caused by insufficient parts and knowledge.
But replenished by forward feelings. Little by little formed.
Just one girl.
That, one girl, now
Stands with the tower – wrapped in winds.
Jealousy, leading admiration.
Miyasumi Misato.
Misato, my senior.
Taichi: “Heeey!”
I called out. The wind blew coils. Her black hair became filmy, making large wavelets.
Turning here.
Strong winds made the glistening hair seem like rushed streams.
Misato was troubled. She cut the flow with her hand. Her face peeked through.
Misato: “…”
The sudden raised strength of light. A dulled expression.
The summer days fading.
That’s why, with that, I knew it could fall away in a moment.
Misato: “…?”
From those autumn-colored lips, words were unraveled.
Swiftly. My ears were buffeted by a screaming squall. So those murmurs were killed.
Moving lips. Whatever said could be known there.
A sweet grin, and a response.
Taichi: “I’m here –!!”
Misato: “Peke-kun…”
Two hands raised. A bellow.
And, her eyes swiveled down to their corners.
Like slow stills of film falling in place. Warm features fading in.
Misato: “Heeeey—-!”
Responding back.
Always herself.
Misato: “What’s going on? Peke-kun?”
Taichi: “I can see your panties!”
Oh whyever did I try that.

Freestyle Translation

A wind.
It started up when I stepped out.
But I was absurdly happy.
Across my eyes – the water tower, it’s staircase. Elsewhere – the antenna.
Taichi: “Hoh…”
While unfinished,
Due to insufficient parts and data,
Scaffolded by frank feelings, bit by bit.
This girl,
Yes, this girl
Stood by it, cradled by the zephyrs.
Envious admiration.
Miyasumi Misato,
My senior.
Taichi: “Heeeey!”
A call. At the same time her hair waved like soft film, taken up by the blowing air.
Turning here.
It blew harder. Gloss ran lightly along black streams. Then turned into rapids.
In her troubles, she cut the stream with a palm. Her face peeked through.
Misato: “…”
The orb of the sky grew in its light. Blank tints clung to those features.
Summer had become faint.
That’s how a moment falls away – I knew
Misato: “…?”
Autumn-reddened lips made unraveled words
But suddenly, this wind shrieked in my ear, killing those murmurs
Lip-movement. Whatever said could be known there
A grin and a response.
Taichi: “I’m here –!!”
Misato: “Peke-kun…”
Palms raised high, and then a bellow.
And, her eyes swiveled down to their corners.
Frame by frame. A zoetrope of warmth fell on that face.
Misato: “Heeeey—-!”
Responding back.
Always Her.
Misato: “What’s going on? Peke-kun?”
Taichi: “I can see your panties!”
I don’t know why I tried that.

Hyperminimalism

Wind.
At stepping out, then.
Strangely, a bright mood.
Before my eyes. A water tower. Staircase. Besides that – an antenna.
Taichi: “…hoh”
Unfinished
Lacking components and knowledge
But compensated. Forward feelings. Slowly made.
One girl.
Yes, a girl.
Stands with the tower. Wind, wrapping.
Jealousy. Admiration.
Miyasumi Misato
My senior
Taichi: “Heeey!”
A call. Wind coils. Her hair became filmy. Undulations.
Turning here.
Strong winds. Glistening hair. Like rapids.
Troubled, she cut the flow. Peeked through.
Misato: “…”
Stronger light. Expression dulled.
Fading summer.
With that I knew – it could fall away. A moment.
Misato: “…?”
Autumn-coloured lips. Unraveled words.
Suddenly, my ears. A shrieking squall. Whispers drowned.
Moving lips. That’s how I listened.
Sweet grin. Response.
Taichi: “I’m here –!!”
Misato: “Peke-kun…”
Two hands raised. A bellow.
Eyes swiveled down. To corners.
Slow stills of film. Warm face.
Misato: “Heeeey—-!”
Responding back.
Always herself.
Misato: “What’s going on? Peke-kun?”
Taichi: “I can see your panties!”
Why did I, anyway?

